interview with cinematographer, Steve Marshall

Image

So about two weeks ago I recorded an update video saying I would be interviewing a cinematographer, Steve Marshall, about the influence of the internet on him personally and his work. He was incredibly open and gracious and got back to me almost right away.

Before watching the interview, I’d like to give you some background information on the man behind the camera, so to speak. He’s been a cinematographer for over five years now and has won Best Student Cinematographer at the Kodak Awards. He’s worked on over 25 projects including music videos, commercials, short films, and feature films.

Here you can see a showreel of his work:

As I said before, he’s been so helpful and good about getting back to me, and I’m so very excited to share this interview with you all.

How do you think the internet has affected you and your career?
Hugely! I don’t think I’d be were I am today without the internet. The huge amounts of information I can access allow me to prepare for almost any situation. Any technical problems on set can usually be dealt with with a quick google. It give me access to my peers in ways that weren’t possible. I can ask for help and receive it almost instantly with other cinematographers from across the world! It also helps to get me work, from a random twitter encounter to a targeted campaign of producers on LinkedIn.
 
Do you think you’d be wanting to be cinematographer 20 years ago when not as much technology was available to you?
Absolutely I would. Technology in terms of cinematography is just another tool we can use to tell the story. It’s not always appropriate or warranted but it’s there for when you need it.
However, take that twenty years of technology away and I probably wouldn’t be a cinematographer right now. The advent of cheap (relatively) digital cameras like the RED Epic have allowed inexperienced guys like me shoot wonderful images and get yourselves noticed.
 
What do you think of twitter as a resource? Has it helped you branch out or create opportunities for yourself?
Twitter is a very important tool for you. It allows me to connect to a network of peers, ask questions, learn and grow as a cinematographer. If I ever wonder how a shot was done in 24 I can tweet Rodney Charters and usually get a reply within a few hours! It’s also expanded my client list just from people seeing my work, liking it and hiring me.
Which project has been your favourite to work on and why?
Each project is fun in it’s own way. My fav so far was probably my first feature film, The Maid, which is due for release sometime this year.
Is there something specific you’d like to work on in the future?
Nothing specific, I just want the chances to tell wonderful, inspiring stories that people will enjoy watching! I wouldn’t mind shooting a few episodes of Game of Thrones, but I doubt that’ll happen!
 
Other resources:
I look forward to seeing any and all future projects Steve works on, and I’m sure if you have any more questions for him personally he’d be willing to answer on his twitter!
Leave a Reply

